Posted by: Sylvia, aka Shucky | September 24, 2010

Birthday Cake …1-2-3-4

I only have a few cake recipes that I bother baking…my Dutch Apple Cake, the Hershey Disappearing Cake, my Breton Chocolate Cake, my grandson’s favourite Heavenly Cake, and my Orange Chocolate Pound Cake. But I had the best recipe for birthday cake ever. It was called a cherry cake, really…you poured the juice from maraschino cherries into it to make it pink, and it called for a cup of shortening (yuck, but what a great cake!).

And I LOST the recipe!

I have been looking for it for several years, surfing the net…nada! Thankfully, I like reading old cookbooks like others read novels, and had pulled Edna Staebler’s Food That Really Schmecks: Mennonite Country Cooking off the shelf for a read. Like comfort food for the weary brain…and guess what I found! Her “Mother’s most fool-proof light cake,”

1-2-3-4 Cake

  • 1 c. butter (I used shortening)
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 3 c. flour (I used cake flour)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 2 t. cream of tartar
  • 1 t. baking soda (I just used 3 t. baking powder)
  • (1/2 t. salt)

Cream the butter with the sugar, then beat in the eggs. Sift the dry ingredients twice and add to the batter alternately with the milk and vanilla, then pour into two prepared layer pans and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until done.

For Cherry Cake, substitute some of the milk with maraschino cherry juice, and add a cup of  coarsely chopped maraschino cherries.

For Butter Pecan Cake, substitute half the sugar with brown sugar and add one cup of finely chopped (not ground) pecans.

Ice with a good butter-cream frosting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

