Posted by: Sylvia, aka Shucky | September 14, 2010

Mini Caramel Apples

IMG_4039.JPG

It’s a really easy process. One green apple allows about 7 ‘mini’ apples via a melon baller.

IMG_4035.JPG


I’m missing one b/c true to it’s shaped, it rolled off my counter.
I found these new balls of caramel, and melted them with a little water. (I stirred every 30 seconds for about 1 and 1/2 min).


I stirred, and then dipped.


One bag of these caramels will safely make at least 5 apples (35+) mini apples. Just be careful with the water to caramel ratio when melting, or it will completely fall off the apple over time if there is too much water. (If you are serving these right away, no problem. If you are serving these later, play around with this in advance, depending on the humidity where you live, the caramel likes to fall when it’s next to the wetness of the apple. I’ve read that freezing the apples after you dip them works, and the caramel won’t completely freeze, but I haven’t tested this yet.).

IMG_4044.JPG
It would be fun to also add fun sprinkles, nuts, or other toppings, but I didn’t waste my time….I just started eating.

Leave a Reply

Categories

